The crime of theft can take many different forms under New Hampshire law.
Theft by Unauthorized Taking
The most common charge of theft is theft by unauthorized taking. A person commits this crime if he obtains or exercises unauthorized control over the property of another with the purpose to deprive him of that property.
Receiving Stolen Property
Receiving stolen property, the second most common charge of theft, occurs when a person is in possession of another person’s property knowing or believing that the property has probably been stolen, with the purpose to deprive him of that property.
The third most commonly charge form of theft is willful concealment. A person commits this crime if he conceals goods or merchandise of a store while still on the premises of that store. A person also commits this crime if he removes the goods or merchandise from the store without paying for them (shoplifting), somehow changes or removes the price tag on goods or merchandise, or causes the cash register to reflect an amount less than the actual price.
Penalties for Theft Charges
Theft charges can be a felony or a misdemeanor. Theft is a class A felony if the value of the property is greater than $1,000.00, the stolen item is a firearm, or if the person committing the theft is armed with a deadly weapon. Theft is a class B felony if the value of the property is more than $500.00 but not more than $1,000.00, the person has been convicted of theft two times previously, or if the theft is by extortion. Theft is a misdemeanor if the value of the property is $500.00 or less.
If you are charged with theft, you need an experienced and effective criminal defense attorney to represent you immediately. Because theft can be a misdemeanor or felony-level charge, a person convicted of it may be sent to the House of Corrections or the New Hampshire State Prison. The criminal defense lawyers at Wilson, Bush & Keefe have the proven record of success to defend you when you need it the most.