A Steadying Force In The Midst Of Crisis

Don't Give Up
Call For An Initial Consultation 603-595-0007 Nights and Weekends 603-595-0070

What Are the Penalties for Possession and Manufacture and Sales of Marijuana in New Hampshire?

Possession. Currently in New Hampshire, it is a crime to knowingly possess marijuana. The penalties for breaking the law are outlined in N.H. RSA § 318-B:26 and may include a fine up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both.

Manufacture and Sales. What about the manufacturing or selling of marijuana? Both are also illegal in New Hampshire and the penalties for these acts vary based on the amount possessed and whether the offense was a first or subsequent violation. N.H. RSA § 318-B:26 lists penalties as such:

Up to one ounce of marijuana.

  • First offense: Penalties include a fine of up to $25,000, up to three years in prison, or both.
  • Second offense: Penalties carry a fine of up to $50,000, up to six years in prison, or both.

Between one ounce and five pounds of marijuana.

  • First offense: Penalties include a fine of up to $100,000, up to seven years in prison, or both.
  • Second offense: Penalties carry a fine of up to $200,000, up to fifteen years in prison, or both.

More than five pounds of marijuana.

  • First offense: Penalties includes a fine of up to $300,000, up to twenty years in prison, or both.
  • Second offense: Penalties carry a fine of up to $500,000, up to forty years in prison, or both.

Retain Representation. If you have been charged with a marijuana-related offense, you need an experienced and effective criminal defense attorney to represent you immediately. Because a drug offense can be a misdemeanor or felony-level charge, a person convicted of it may be sent to the House of Corrections or the New Hampshire State Prison. The criminal defense lawyers at Wilson, Bush & Keefe, P.C. have the proven record of success to defend you when you need it the most.